Florence (Firenze)

July 20, 2012

Florence is all that I dreamed it would be. The city is spectacular. Luca and I did a lot today, including visiting the giant palace the Medici family lived in. 

Image

The walls and celings in every room were covered with elaborate artwork designed by all of the big names we know. I wish I could afford a room with this everywhere…

Image

What was interesting about this room, was that they just discovered the lost painting of Leonardo Divinci, “Battle of Anghiari.” Apparently the artist who most recently painted this room covered Leonardo’s painting. The discovery channel is currently doing a documentary about it. 

Image

 

The churches of Florence are very different than Rome. Their beauty is more emphasized on the exterior, rather than having an elaborate interior. Their exterior has a very particular style, known as Florentine architecture. The style was formed during the Renaissance. Today we tried to enter the Santa Maria del Fiore Cathedral, but I was not allowed to enter the church because my shoulders weren’t covered. Then they expected me to buy a shawl for £2. I was so pissed off, that I didn’t end up going inside. I thought we were over this…

Image

 

One of my favorite parts of the day was visiting the local market. Everything from Italian leather to olive oil was for sale. 

Image

 

Image

 

Luca and I ended our day eating wild boar salami and parmesan cheese on olive bread, with a bottle of local Tuscan Red Wine, and watching this view overlooking Florence…

Image

 

Image

 

Tomorrow we are going to go visit the Galleria Delgi Uffizi to view the artwork of names such as Raphael, Michelangelo, and many more. Then off to the town of Lucca!